Sipping Tea w/ the Ex-Assassin and the Tyrant Part 9 [END]

Rb: “Wait… There is only one page left of your story. Is this the end?”

Angel: “Sadly, yes.”

Demon: “The end sucks so you can just skip it.”

Rb: “If that’s the case then I’m going to read it.”

Demon: “Does my opinion count for nothing?”

Angel: “It seems… no.”

____________

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT PART 9 [END]

There was the slightest of breezes. That trickle of air hurt his skin while Mecten laid panting, needle stabs of pain shooting all over his body.

Some way, somehow, even with no strength or energy, his head lifted. Or was it being lifted?

Something bitter and wet touched his lips, caressed his tongue, and tickled his throat. He coughed.

“Awake finally? Good drink this.” A voice in the distance said.

When something hard and cold touched his lips, he took an agonizing sip.

“I’ve seen you drink more than that in one go. Gulp like you usually do.”

He knew that voice. No…wait. Wasn’t he dead? Maybe he was dreaming.

“Mec, open your mouth and drink.” The pleasant voice issued a command.

With all the strength he didn’t know existed, he let his mouth and throat do the work. He gulped long hard mouthfuls that burned his throat.

“That’s my boy! Drink up!”

Encouragement urged him to drink more until he was slurping air.

Her soft chuckle almost made him forget why he should be trying to kill her. “Was it good?” She asked.

Blinking, he focused eyes that were beginning to see. Clarity blew away the fog in his mind while the pain in his body cooled and calmed. He shook his head ‘no’.

“What did it taste like?” Tralie’s face came into his direct view as she leaned over his splayed form donning her ever present smile.

He croaked, “Yalu Brew?”

“That bad huh?”

He nodded before asking, “What was it?” But he knew in his heart what before she answered.

“Healing Tea of Light. Potent stuff. I wish I could serve up some of that elixir in my tavern. You look ten times better than you did before you left. All your scars are gone. You’re a hundred years younger. Very impressive.”

He sat up so abruptly his head decided to go swimming.

“Easy big guy.” Tralie’s light tone bordered on singing.

“How…?” Looking around the main Temple’s sanctuary, the cold stone under his bare skin reminded him of the burns he had sustained on the verge of death. Though his clothes had been burned away, his skin was clear, smooth just as Tralie had said.

“You…” He took in a deep breath. “You got to the tea?”

“Yep. I figured you might get yourself seriously hurt because of me. Couldn’t live with that.”

“Even if I want you dead.”

“Yes.” Her smile was pleasing, but those wide eyes held sadness. She turned away reaching behind him, when his hands shot out and grabbed her narrow throat. She didn’t flinch or try to protect herself as her head remained immobile.

“Why?” He asked, squeezing.

Keeping her grin, she didn’t look the least bit uncomfortable with the pressure on her throat. “Why didn’t I tell you? Why did I kill Sherris? Why did I let you come here knowing you would find out the truth? Why did I-”

“I know why you killed her,” Because his heart wouldn’t allow it. His feelings for Sherris were blinding. “I know why you didn’t tell me.” He would have never admitted that Sherris betrayed him, even if Tralie was the one who told him. Even if Sherris came to him herself and confessed… Damn, he was such a fool. That’s what hurt the most. “I know why you sent me here knowing I would find out everything.” The truth needed to kick him, beat him, and burn him awake from his delusioned hopes. “Why did you save me, knowing I could kill you?”

Her face never changed as he stared at the side view. With that smile, the slightest touch of blush peeked on her cheeks that abruptly silenced any further questions on his tongue.

His thumb rubbed soft skin close to her ear as her head slowly turned to stare into his eyes, a longing in them he wasn’t sure he wanted to understand. The quiet was too uncomfortable for words, especially with him being stark naked in front of her. Why was he so aware of her now?

Lifting her hand, she presented him a blood stained white robe, probably from one of the dead priests. “Either kill me, Mec, or get dressed so we can leave.”

His grip loosened, his eyes drifted to her lips. “I gave up killing, remember?”

That laugh of hers was a melody lifting the weight of his soul. “You should have told the queen that.”

“Maybe later,” He said watching the joy in her face.

She laughed harder.

Mecten stood up slowly, and took the robe before slipping the garment over his head. “Do you think the Temple will recover from this?” He asked letting the cloth drop to his feet.

Tralie nodded looking up at him with daring affection. “Of course. The Temple is like us: impossible to kill.” She hopped to her feet, before slinging a rifle over her shoulder. “Speaking of kill, are you sure you want to retire from it all… I mean, you’re legendary. Plus, you make a great story for my customers, Mec.” Her pointed ears gave the slightest twitch, indicating her excitement. “And you bet I’m going to tell everyone how you took down the mighty Queen Angelus.”

Chuckling, he shook his head. “Come on, Tralie, let’s go home.”

RbH

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT Part 1

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT Part 2

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT Part 3

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT Part 4

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT Part 5

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT Part 6

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT Part 7

SIPPING TEA WITH THE EX-ASSASSIN AND THE TYRANT Part 8

10 Replies to “Sipping Tea w/ the Ex-Assassin and the Tyrant Part 9 [END]”

      1. having almost finished that series… it was amazing!!! Your writing reminds me so much of my own… Really has been amazing! Yeah I have read almost all three books in like three days…

        1. Holy Crap, all 3!! You’re awesome! I read some of your shorts. Nice! Then found the page of your soon to be released books. Will definitely keep an eye out for them.

          1. So it gets even better… I read all three in like… less than three days *grins* yes I have officially finished them… then I cried… well I cried while reading too *grins* but I cried cause… I want MORE!!! I really enjoyed them…
            Yeah I am really hoping to manage to get something published… actually the one I am currently working on I feel has the most potential! We shall see, a couple of my previous NaNo Novels have serious potential too, soo now that I have a start of a writing group, I hope to have the motivation to get my rewrites done so that one of them will be ready to try to submit at the least before the year is up, but we shall see *grins* Always our worst critics, lmao!

            1. Yahoo! I’m glad you liked them. I understand about you being your own worse critic…same here. Well keep going, I look forward to reading!

Leave a comment