STOP!

You see…

I’ve been worried lately about my book: the sales, the promotion, if people will read it, if people will like it. So worried, I stress myself. I know it’s my first book and without a traditional publisher backing me, it won’t be widely publicized. That’s one of the pitfalls of using a self publishing company. Unless you have big bucks, a publicist, a large network of people, or willing to get out in the streets yourself and talk the talk, you won’t be known.

I know all this and yet, I still worry.

It all came to a halt!

Monday, January 5, 2009, I found myself stopping. Not once, not twice, but repeatedly. I stopped for every single stop light. This wouldn’t have been so crazy if I didn’t have to drive forty-five minutes to work everyday and back. At work, I couldn’t go ten steps without having to stop behind someone or something in the way. Stopping doesn’t usually bother me, but when it happens ALL DAY when normally my day flows non-stop, I feel God is trying to tell me something…

The message?

I talked to a friend of mine about these weird occurrences. Even explained to her my worries. She smiled and told me that if everything is making me stop, then maybe that is what I should do. Stop and appreciate where I am. Appreciate what I have accomplished so far, because it could be worse. A lot worse. Be grateful some have actually read my book, because no one would’ve read it at all. Stop and learn to take life as it comes don’t rush it because you might not be ready for what is coming next. And stop to prepare for the future.

Trying to live the message…

She had such a valid point. I was so worried about what I haven’t accomplished, I didn’t appreciate what I had accomplished. I do have people helping me. I’m hoping for more. I NEED MORE. But for now, I do what I can with the time I have.

Several people have bought my book and read it. And so far, I got mostly positive feedback. I have my book on websites and even had an article written about me.

So, for now, I’ll stop worrying and write. Write my booty off, because if nothing else, it helps take my mind away.

http://www.rbholbrook.com/

1 Comment

  1. Hi RB. I just wanted to be the first to write on your blog. I was the first to get my book signed so I should be first at everything now. I think that your achievements are extraordinary and no matter what happens, know that you’ve done something that most people dream of doing. Keep up the good work, continue words of the week, and always know that the fam is always behind you. Can’t wait for book two.

    Kudos!!!!!

Comments are closed.