Hahahaha, Networking!!

Networking is a simple principle.

You either want to do it or you don’t.

I. Don’t.

I tried…

At first, everyone was telling me I need to network:

Get your name out there, promote yourself, learn the trade, learn the industry, make connections.

So I started doing the very thing I hate, putting my name out there for people to see. My name isn’t what I want people to know. My book is… but I did it. Slow painstaking process. So slow. Sooo much pain.

It’s hard for an introvert

I like writing, reading, video games, and a lot of other solitary activities for a reason: I like being left alone. Yes, I have friends and I enjoy their time, but I enjoy me time. So when I’m asked to step outside that bubble, engage in conversation, and pass out business cards, it makes me feel uncomfortable. And most of the time I don’t know what I’m doing. Yes, I ramble when I’m nervous. Yes, I fidget. And yes, I want to scream after about twenty minutes of smiling and small talk. But I’m learning.

There is light at the end of that EXTREMELY dark tunnel

Rubbing elbows with people you don’t want to know, to get what you want is not my style. I feel like a product. MY BOOK SHOULD BE ON SELL NOT ME!

But I’ve learned a secret: find two or more people who have connections or love to network and they will help you in ways you can’t imagine. You don’t even have to ask them, they will get on your nerves introducing you to people. Okay, maybe not your nerves, but the few I know can be over the top. However I wouldn’t replace them for anything. Anyone willing to help me (who can be difficult, I won’t lie) is more than welcomed! I will never turn away a helping hand.

So for those who like to network, GO FOR IT! And for those who don’t, I understand.

He who knows others is wise.
He who knows himself is enlightened. 

~Lao Tzu, Tao Te Ching~

Leave a Reply

