Writer’s Block? Episode 7 – Painting Myself into a Corner

I believe Murphy’s Law states something about if it can go wrong it will go wrong.

That goes right up there with: if it happens it happens.

R B says:

“Why does it happen? Why?!?!”

My latest work of art is at the editor being polished. My current book is being written and I’m enjoying the ride. I find  myself going back often to do spot checking to make sure that I’m on the right track so that I don’t have to rewrite the whole thing later. And then it occured to me, “I just wrote that scene”.

Scrolling up to several chapters previous I pause. Different characters, but same actions, same mannerisms, practically the same dialogue. How did…? What the…? Arrrgggghhhh!!

“X” Marks the Spot

Instead of pulling my hair out, ranting, or throwing my computer out the window, I calmly delete the whole scene. A nice big “X” that yodled “You’re not needed here.” And then I shut down my computer and turned on the television.

Sometimes You Even Need A Vacation From What You Love

The repeated scene came from pushing myself, making myself write. I’ve imposed pressure and in return I imposed restraint. My writing doesn’t need restriction but flow and if I can’t accomodate the need I shouldn’ t write.

Now I am back to writing, being careful to take breaks and assess not only techinique but originality. While I pray I never do that again, if it can happen it will.

“We’ve all heard that we have to learn from our mistakes, but I think it’s more important to learn from successes. If you learn only from your mistakes, you are inclined to learn only errors.” ~Norman Vincent Peale~

Leave a Reply

