Glossary Intimidation

It is a reoccurring topic when discussing my book. A topic I could no longer ignore…

THE GLOSSARY

How could I have known that when I was writing my sci-fi/fantasy trilogy Oracle’s Legacy, putting the glossary in it would make readers intimidated? I thought they would be like me when I read a book with a glossary in it, SKIP OVER THAT SUCKER! And only go back to it when or if I need to.

Grant it, I did put it in the front of the book, but that was only so that anyone looking for a reference would know it was there in the book.

UNFORTUNATELY

My plan not only worked, it scared the crap out of people. There are those afraid to read my book because of the glossary. They thought it would take a lot of brain power, I guess. There is some thought that goes into my book, but I wrote it so it wouldn’t be complicated…Dang it, at least I tried to.

THUS, A WARNING FOR THE INTIMIDATED

THE GLOSSARY IS ONLY MEANT FOR REFERENCE. SKIP THAT SUCKER AND START AT THE FIRST CHAPTER. ONLY REFER BACK TO IT WHEN YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND SOMETHING.

And for those who can tackle a story without worry or stress over the glossary, YOU MY FRIEND GET A STANDING OVATION!!!!

RBH

4 Comments

  1. I read the glossary before reading both books, but it didn’t intimidate me. I don’t think I went back to it during my reading, though. Too caught up in the story–and I figured if there was something I didn’t understand, it was probably because it would be revealed later, and it usually was.

    1. Yay! I’m so glad you get it!

      On my first book signing, I had to keep repeating “skip the glossary” because people would flip through my book and get this “Oh, crap” expression before they would say “Is this a glossary?”.

      Needless to say, I was exhausted after that day.

  2. Intimidated by a glossary? I’ve never heard of anything so ridiculous – ….deep breath….

    Anyway, as you so eloquently said, ‘skip over that sucker’. That’s exactly what I do, unless whatever I’m reading isn’t making any sense and even then I’m reluctant.

    If all else fails, read the instructions I guess.

    Wondering how people cope with recipe books/telephone directories/encyclopedias – they all have glossaries!

    I think that’s quite enough from me 🙂

Leave a Reply

