Writer’s Block? Sleep…

Since I started graduate school over two years ago,

I have been slowly losing sleep.

At first it was only an hour of sleep I lost, a total of 8 hours a night. Yeah, I WAS a 9 hour sleep person. Only to catch up on sleep on Saturdays.

Once I finished graduate school, I caught less than six hours a night sometimes.

Why?

Because I have to get my writing done. I have an 8 hour job, like most writers, and I have other things I have to do, so my writing time takes over my sleep.

They told me…

“Go to bed.”

“Sleep is important.”

“You look tired.”

“Sleep keeps you healthy.”

“Don’t sacrifice your health to write or you won’t be able to enjoy it.”

Now

It has caught up with me! I’m too tired to write. Too tired to think. I can’t seem to get my thoughts together. My focus is lacking!! SO FREAKIN’ FRUSTRATIN’!

When my writing suffers, action must be taken.

I refuse to allow this to continue. My genius MUST be preserved! So I’m sleeping now. Though it has cut down on my writing time, it is bringing my mind back into focus and clearing out the fog… AND YES, IT IS VERY CLEAR!

RBH

2 Comments

  1. I’m with you on the ‘sleep’ department. Unless I get 8 hrs – well, we wont go there….

    I hope you have managed to catch up by the way? Nothing worse than sleep deprivation for the, ‘my genius MUST be preserved’ mind!

    Still trying to buy your books in NZ. So frustrating… One day I hope to have my clammy hands on a copy 🙂

Leave a Reply

