Storytelling: How should it be done?

I read a lot of blogs from a lot of people that call themselves experts. I’m not saying they’re not, because they know a lot more than me. But I have realized something:

SOMETIMES THEY CONTRADICT THEMSELVES

I thought it was odd when I read one blog that says you can tell a amatuer writing by these things (and they give you a list). Then a few weeks later, a totally different blog comes out with their own list, and three items on that list contradict what another list said. And no I will not call these blogs out, because I hate public bashing.

So what is right?

I’m no expert. And thought I like to call myself a genius, I don’t know everything. But as a writer, who values creativity, I only have one thing to say:

CREATIVITY HAS NO CORRECT FORM.

How can a writer be creative and original if they have to follow a blueprint? To everything, there is a rule: “Don’t do this.” “Do this.”

But sometimes creativity DEMANDS that you step beyond the boundaries. Hey, jump outside that dang box if you need to. But don’t let the rules hold you back… nor am I saying break the law.

What I’m saying is…

If you have a story to tell, TELL IT: write it, act it, draw it, paint it, create it. There is an audience for every story, and a media for every audience. So what if it isn’t TRADITIONAL or STANDARD. Why be normal? That’s boring.

RBH

4 Comments

  1. I’m not familiar with the lists you are speaking of, but I sympathize with the variety of differing opinions out there. How is a novice writer supposed to know what to listen to and what not to?
    There are rules to writing for a reason, and personally I think that everyone should learn them. Get the basics down, learn the prevailing theories about characterization, plot, theme, etc. Then, when you’ve got that stuff down and you have a solid platform to work on, get creative. Painters learn the basics of brush work and color before doing their own thing too. If you want to break the rules, you gotta know what they are first.
    I remember an author saying (and I really wish I could remember who because I hate leaving things unattributed) that if you’re writing something that’s non-traditional and crazy, all avant garde, because it’s never been done before…that it has been done and the reason you don’t see it in print is because it didn’t work. I don’t agree fully with that sentiment, but I do think there is a reason the traditional narratives and styles are still being used. They work, and they work well, and writers find numerous ways to keep them from being boring. And you are right, being boring is very bad for a writer.

    It’s kind of odd that people would actually make a list of the traits of an amateur writer though…and a bit disturbing. Much good luck to you in your writing.

    1. You make an awesome point, Sevvy. If anyone plans to publish traditionally, then yes of course they want to follow the traditional rules. As with anything: if you want a specific result then you must follow a specific guideline… or what not. What I’m saying is, if the story needs to be told, and not necessarily for publication but just told, tell it your way. There is someone out there willing to listen.

Leave a Reply

