Where to begin…?

I often hear many people with great ideas for a book or story. Sometimes they say, “You wrote a book? I have an idea for a book, but I don’t know where to begin.”

Or maybe…

“I have thought of writing a book, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten.”

Sound familiar?

If the above is you, the only advice I can give:

Your ideas will go nowhere if they stay in your head. The best way to get a story or book started is one word at a time.

My father (love him to death) used to tell me and my brother the most off the wall stories I’ve ever heard. Stories about kudzu and goats, and Noah’s friend Sleepy or was it Lazy (don’t ask). Though weird, they were captivating. I doubt he ever wrote them down (should ask him), but if he had, he would’ve been an excellent children’s writer.

Many people out there with talent don’t use it. All they have to do is BEGIN: put pen to paper/hand to keyboard. If your idea starts in the middle of the story, then work from there and add the beginning later… if there be one. So what if “Once upon a time,” is lame, if that is where your story beings, then make it work. You can always edit later.

And no you will never be Stephen King, James Patterson, Nora Roberts, Walter Mosley, or J.K. Rowling. Don’t try to be. Be you. Writing, like everything, takes patience and practice. There are plenty of classes out there online and otherwise. Pick one.

Thus, for all those who don’t know where to begin, I just gave you a big ol’ clue.

RBH

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

