Imagination: My Freedom… My Chains.


“I am imagination. I can see what the eyes cannot see. I can hear what the ears cannot hear. I can feel what the heart cannot feel.” Peter Nivio Zarlenga 

Imagination is my soul… my life. I breathe it. I use it. And I feel I would die without it. But sometimes it can be a burden.

So I’ve leaned into another book, scribbling down all my ideas…

And what do I find?

It is hard to write a simple story. I mean, I start off simple: plot, main character, you know, the norm. Then I add a twist… or two… or three. The world begins to grow, characters begin to invade. One book becomes three… three evolve into a series! Conflict erupts like volcanoes one after another after another, until I have this complex epic spanning in my mind and a whole world of possibilities spring forward into a collision of cataclysms. Wars are being waged! Political fallout and tragic love stories are playing cinematic trailers in my head…

The problem is:

I forgot to pull the brakes on my imagination. I was trying to write something simple; not so epic or large scale. So instead of trying to dilute the work, I push it aside. Maybe save the epic for later.

And I start again.

RBH

Leave a Reply

